The Wisconsin Tribal Educational Promise program is not based on financial need; financial support will be awarded regardless of family income. When it begins next fall, the program will cover those already on campus, not just those new to campus. Any currently enrolled students at that time who qualify — undergraduates, J.D. students and M.D. students — will receive the program’s financial support.
A view of the front facade of Bascom Hall taken from a drone. On a sunny day, a few people walk across the brick and concrete path in front of the building. The four panels of the Seed by Seed banner hangs between tall, white columns above the building's main entrance. The banner has been printed with a texture resembling beadwork and contains symbols and colors representing traditions of the Ho-Chunk Nation. Four green rings represent the four lakes of Teejop, the name the Ho-Chunk give the land now occupied by UW–Madison. Inside each ring, square patches in light blue, dark blue yellow and red represent the reflections of light on the water at different times of day. Two large pink triangles on either side of the banner represent flowers, with green stems and triangular leaves leading to the center panel. On the center panel, a large diamond made of small blue triangles frames a blue thunderbird, which is flanked by two red, abstract W's, representing UW–Madison. Below the thunderbird are two green water spirits, which resemble four-legged animals with very long tails. Below the water spirits are six light blue triangles representing water. Above and below the large diamond frame are bursts of yellow beading, representing the sun. Along the bottom border of the banners are stylized animal symbols of the twelve clans of the Ho-Chunk Nation, and beneath each animal is a traditional Ho-Chunk flower motif in blue and green.
Bird Effigy Form, a metal sculpture made in 1997 by the late indigenous artist and UW–Madison Art Professor Truman Lowe, is pictured during a dedication ceremony at the University of Wisconsin–Madison on Sept. 15, 2023. The sculpture, inspired by Lowe’s Ho-Chunk Nations cultural heritage, is located on the eastern edge of Observatory Hill just north of Van Hise Hall on the UW–Madison campus.

UW and tribal leaders honor newly installed Truman Lowe sculpture

Read more on the dedication and other news from campus and beyond.
A patch of sweet coneflower plants, also known as Sweet Black-eyed Susan at Curtis Prairie at the UW–Madison Arboretum.

A new educational initiative shows how Indigenous territory became UW–Madison.

Read more from On Wisconsin Magazine.
UW-Madison students sing a welcome song during a Native November feast event held in the at the Multicultural Student Center in the Red Gym at University of Wisconsin-Madison on Nov. 12, 2018. (Photo by Bryce Richter /UW-Madison)

Welcome to Teejop, an extraordinary cultural and agricultural center with thousands of years of human story.

Teejop, which means “Four Lakes” in the Hoocąk language, is the location of the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s main campus. However, the university’s presence extends far beyond this site, with research and agricultural stations, UW Health clinics, and Division of Extension offices spread throughout Wisconsin. This widespread presence allows UW-Madison to maintain strong connections with the 12 American Indian Nations of Wisconsin.

Located within the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Office of University Relations, Tribal Relations works to foster strong ties between the 12 First Nations of Wisconsin and the University. Find out more about our work.

Kasey Keeler, professor in the School of Human Ecology, discusses the Native American heritage of the UW during the Chancellor's Convocation for New Students, a Wisconsin Welcome event held at the Kohl Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison on Sept. 3, 2019.
On a sunny day, two tour guides stand in front of a group. On the right, Kane Funmaker holds holds up a display graphic showing the location of a variety of burial mounds on the north shore of Lake Mendota.